Skip to content

Unitary Consultation (Now closed)

Consultation on the future of local government in Somerset

Residents and businesses in Somerset are currently served by a two-tier system of local government. Somerset County Council is responsible for services such as adult and children’s social care, maintaining roads and libraries, and the District Councils – Mendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton and South Somerset – are responsible for services such as rubbish collection, housing and planning and environmental health.

The Secretary of State invited proposals for a single tier of local government delivering all of the local government services for the area.

The Secretary of State received two proposals from councils in Somerset:

The four district councils – Mendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton and South Somerset – jointly submitted a proposal for two unitary councils: Eastern Somerset comprising the area covered by Mendip and South Somerset District Councils and Western Somerset comprising the area covered by Sedgemoor and Somerset West & Taunton District Councils.  

Somerset County Council submitted a proposal for a single unitary council for the area of Somerset County. 

The Secretary of State has said he welcomes the views of all those interested in these proposals, including local residents, town and parish councils, businesses and the voluntary sector. He has said he will carefully consider all views expressed, including from local residents. 

To this end, it is important that the Disabled community takes part in the consultation and has their voices heard.

To find out more about the two proposals and participate in the consultation, whether completing the online survey or submitting email or written responses, visit the following page on the Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government website:

(This consultation has now ended)

Skip to content